Photography of gemstones

Hi everyone! I have some questions on photographing mineral / gem specimens. I have built a small desktop light-box (cardboard box with white paper diffusion and surfaces on inside). I am using my Galaxy S20 Ultra as the camera with the default Samsung Camera app.

1. Does anyone have a third-party app they use/recommend?

2. Should i get one of the clip-on macro lens kits? Has anyone used these?

3. How do I get the entire specimen in focus? I know focal length vs lens aperture is a factor, I think. However, I am a novice when it comes to photography. So any suggestions would be very helpful.

Thank you!.

Here is an example of what I have done so far… It took several hours of tweaking the ISO/Shutter Speed and white balance to get this one…

4 Likes

Nice image of the aqua and rough. I don’t think it always important to get everything in focus, a little background blur is fine. In trying to get better focus, using my S20, I move it at least a foot away and use the highest pixel setting and zoom in a little. That will sometimes capture a larger area in focus.

The idea is that the closer you get, the less area comes in focus. Using stacking programs is often used for photomicroscopy.

1 Like