Loose stones at auction houses?

Hello everyone. I’m new to the IGS family and I wonder if anyone has any experience or advice regarding purchasing loose gemstones from an auction house? I’ve been researching jewelry auctions (Christie’s, Doyle, Sotheby’s, etc.) for design ideas and I’ve seen a few lots that have loose stones.

1. Avoid Ebay.

2. Gem Rock Auctions is a decent site to work with, but be mindful of where the different shops are shipping/selling from and be most careful with shops shipping from Asia.

3. If you are able to visit an Auction house in person, bring a small tool kit with you that has a couple of loupes, penlights/torches of varying intensities (with one being a decent UV light), dicroscope, filters, and other items that can be fit into a small pouch.

1 Like
  1. Most of ebay is trash, but you will find some decent sellers. If you have a return privilege and use Paypal and a credit card, you have lots of options if things go bad. If you message the seller with questions, you can get some insight into how they operate, how knowledgeable they are, etc.

2. I don’t have any experience buying from GermRockAuctions, but I do look there to research prices.

3. Yes, if you can visit an auction house, take your pocket instruments with you. The Hanneman filters are great, too, if you have them.

4. The big auction houses might have things you can use…just see whether they are standing behind their ID or not. I don’t think you can rescind an auction unless the description is way off.