Faceting lap issues

Hi Everyone
I really need some help. I’m an amateur facetor with a Facetron I’ve had for a number of years. I’ve recently bought a new set of Diamond Tech laps, replacing same but the old ones are so worn. I’ve got 220, 600, 1200 & 1800 grit. I’m having big problems with scratches on the facets especially with the finer grits. I clean and wash everything before putting a finer lap on the machine, base plate, lap, stone, hands, even the lock nut, but still I get scratches. Sometimes it’s fine, then **** more appear. Any tips or ideas please.

Hi Jamiefort,

Form the info you provided you are well set. On my side I am using those lap grits for cutting and fine cutting.
For polishing I am using flat laps with 5000, 12000 and 50000 grits pastes. I am amateur too. I invested in three aluminium flat laps dedicated to each polishing step. I am getting scratchless polishs that ways.
Hernst, T., 2014 Amateur Gemstone Faceting vol 1., 400p. Would provide you much more clues and solutions to you polishing issues.

All the best,

Christian

1 Like

Hello. I too am an amateur hobby facetor. I started cutting mid-December 2019 (pretty much exactly 1 year ago).
I too have had some issues with older laps that appeared to be damaged or contaminated somehow. I have since move to using Topper Laps which I have had No Issues with. But my biggest problem was with Polishing. I have 260, 600, 1200 and 3000 grit Topper Laps. I pre-polish almost everything with the 3000. I have only ever used my Copper lap for prepolishing a few times (after giving it a new surface).

The laps I started with for pre-polishing and final polishing all started scratching my stones. It’s super frustrating. So I did two things that have made a world of difference for me.