Buy gems from Etsy?

Hi everyone,
Have you ever purchases gems from Etsy? I saw one with a GIL Canada certificate. The pictures and video look good, but I am leary. The seller is based in the US.

1 Like

I have. Came from Tucson. But the stones where in rough. The stones them selves were from over sea, ruby saph auqamarine and Ethiopian opal. All came as should but I would always be cautious of any online market for gemstones sometimes people sell stuff not knowing themselves if it’s authentic or not just for a doller

Thanks Jacob,
I appreciate your input. I am relatively new to collecting unset gems. Having a good time learning and making a few purchases. I’ve used the gemrock auction site, and have been pleased with my purchases. Etsy seemed a little more risky, but I might try it. Have you been collecting long? Do you facet the stones you purchase?

Regards,
Daniel

1 Like

iv always had a fascination with anything old. the science of gemstones and faceting them im new to. later today im enrolling in igs"s cert course for colord stones. i always assumed a jewler took a rock or crystal and just cut and polish it. o boy was i wrong. i love doing this and plan on doing this till i die.i do have a slight uper hand becouse i self tought basic chemistry and organic chemistry and some college grade chemistry so i understand the molecule aspect a little more then some. like the fact you can create anything from nothing with the right equipment and knowledge. and patience.
as far as etsy check where the seller is located for instance tusan az holds a large gem show every year. so after then gem show some of the people will sell online at cheaper prices to get there stock sold. ofcourse you wont get to pick of the crop but you will get good practice material. items in the auction to me is more of a risk for practice you dont want to win a bid for a 1200 rough gemstone to end up with a pile of dust and a few slivers of the gemstone after u work on it.