Which Microscope

Hi everyone,

I’m new to geology and I have a difficult decision to make. It’s difficult because I’m on a tight buget and the time has come where I have to have a microscope.

I have seen many on line and I have narrowed it down to two options.

1. Optigem-20 which is the topend I would be able to afford, and I would have to make considerable sacrifice on other tools.
  1. AmScope 3.5X-90X Jewelry Gem Stereo Microscope + Dual Halogen + 14MP Camera from ebay

It’s cheaper, better magnification, better wide angle eye piece, better working distance, camera included.

It does not have the nice possibility to be turned into a submerge scope like the Optigem.

Is the trade off for for being able to do submerged gem analysis justified?

Is there a way to do submerged gem analysis on a regular Gemological microscope like the AmScope?

Thank you for your opinion and help.

Johann

Hello Johann.

If you want quality you should go for the Optika.

If you want quality AND immersion you can check out Krüss microscopes. I have one myself and i am very satisfied with it.

If you take the Amscope you will have to pay customs and vat if you are living in Europe.

Best regards
Pierre

1 Like

Thank you very much Pierre.

The Krüss Scope looks very good.
The one I want is 1.5k ontop of the Optica.
I probably go for the optica as I would be able to bild it up to be an immersion scope.

I do belive that your eye pieces have are 30mm if I’m right. I would love to have them on the Optica.

It’s good to know what’s on the market which is very difficult because ist not a common sector.

I still wonder if there is a way to do immersion testing without a purpose build microscope.

Johann

It is possible to do immersion without the expensive microscope. You just have to get a Petri bowl and you will do just fine with it. I started with a Petri and a common microscope. A Konus Diamond that worked great.

1 Like

That sounds good.
Will I have any problems with reflections?