Thoughts on these...’jades’?

Just curious for your opinions on these! I’ve looked at so many jades/simulants ive baffled myself really

Join the club, I have baffled myself too. Will follow this discussion to learn. Ever heard of black jade?

to weigh in, I have some “black jade” I think it came from Wyoming. I slab it very thin and use it for backing for doublets (opal or ammolite)

I also have some beautiful lavender jade from Turkey

I just got a book on jade and jadeite, so learning this as well

I have looked at these photos and although I am no expert on jade, I would think all those pieces are dyed quartzite
except for the piece that may be agate/carnelian
just my thoughts

The thing I find interesting in your question is the word ‘jades’ in quotes. That is usually used in the trade to mean that the stone is something other than Jadeite or Nephrite, usually dyed Quartz or Serpentine, often intergrown with other minerals. These don’t look like Serpentine. It is very difficult to tell from pictures, but one thing I can safely say is that they appear to be dyed. You can see a peppering of deeper color in pits on the surface and collected near the holes. Otherwise, the white with minty green streaks could be Jadeite. The orange, I agree with SydP, looks like Carnelian or dyed Agate. The last specimen doesn’t look at all like jade, more like a quartz with hair-like inclusions and very crackled. There is such a thing as black Jadeite, but there are a lot of imitations for that also.

Hi Lottied, yes I agree with you thoughts, on your last point, re black jadeite, I posted photo’s of a cab of black jadeite jade on 5th Feb, but no one has responded to my post. I cut and polished a cab from a rough piece I purchased in Mae Sot Thailand on the border of Myanmar. it is natural black jadeite jade which if I am to understand there is very little if any coming out of Myanmar/Burma anymore see post
thanks.

Black jadeite is usually from Guatemala, yes? :thinking: