Studying gems

Hi all! I’m new to the lovely world of gemstones and I just started taking the mini courses. However one problem I have faced is even though there are images showing natural inclusions vs synthetic tell tales, it’s hard to really grasp the differences, such as air bubbles vs sharp crystal inclusions. So I thought maybe I should purchase some synthetic gems and some heavily or less than ideal cheaper natural gems, heated or unheated that no one wants.
Do you guys think this will help me in learning? If so, where can I find real natural unwanted gems? I read the threads on eBay and I saw lots of them are just glass…I would like a better source so I don’t confuse myself further.
So far I’m interested in emerald, sapphire, and spinel.

Thank you! Any suggestions or comments will be appreciated!

Hello,

It sounds as though you need to take a gemmology course with. recognised qualification and one with a practical component where you can learn how to distinguish mined gems from synthetics, treated stones, paste and other simulants. I would recommend a Gem-A course or one from GIA. There may be others but those two organisations are certainly in the forefront of gemmology and will give you very good training which will pay off in the end. Please take a look at their websites. Good luck

2 Likes

HI,