Sapphire inclusions

Hi All,

I am still very much a novice but I took some photos of inclusions from one of my pink sapphires and was wondering if anyone knew what they were and if they are natural inclusions. Many of these photos are taken at 90x. I apologize if the pictures are a bit out of focus, I’m still learning how to manually focus the microscope.

I just noticed the circular pattern in the background… I think this is from the pavilion and it’s the lighting either from the side or bottom… or are those curved growth rings? They may also be artifacting from downscaling the image from 18mb to 81kb. I’m not sure what the maximum file size for this post is as I kept on getting error messages saying my images were too large to post.

I think they are natural inclusions because I could not find curved growth lines/striae.

Thanks for the help.

Best regards,

Daniel

In a few of the photos where it shows bubbles, the bubbles are in a finger-print pattern similar to that seen in stones that were heat treated.

gas bubbles usually indicate synthetic

Great images Daniel. I am glad you posted, this helps contrast and compare our findings. I am also learning. I am a professional photographer / microscopy. (my opinion below) I am not a gemologist.(yet)

1-4 look like surface debris, oil, dirt.

5-6 definitely look like gas bubbles in a rising circular pattern (not a fingerprint pattern) Not natural.
from wikihow dot com "If you see any bubbles inside of a sapphire then it is not real (natural)
Bubbles are round, pretty obvious. crystal inclusions have sharp edges.

18-24 show a lot of surface chips / marks.

25-37 circular rings like a tree with wavy edges. I can’t tell from the images if these are physical properties.

(withclarity dot com has a few nice natural inclusion mages, gulfgemology dot com, has some nice images of synthetics)

I’m also a photographer and that’s why I bought a trinocular microscope with a c-mount built into it with a 36mrgapixel.camera…