Rough emerald or tourmaline?

Hello everyone, I was wondering if anyone could identify this gemstone, judging by the color it didn’t really look like an emerald to me, I also tried scratching it with a ruby and it didn’t leave a mark on it. I was thinking maybe it is a rough tourmaline but I’m not sure

Does it really matter? From the looks of that crack, it likely will become two stones anyway. Doesn’t look like either emerald or tourmaline, but in either case it’s pretty low grade. My guess would be serpentine or some sort of feldspar.

Thanks for the reply. Yeah I know it’s poor quality, the reason I asked is because I’m pretty new to gemology and I’m not yet good with identifying gems.

Your guess of emerald is not too far off…just needs a lot more green color!

Just a guess based on your pics…

I think it may be Beryl, which comes in many colors, the deep green we know of as emerald. This seems to have some yellow hues in it so it could be Heliodor, a form of Beryl. Beryl in its most pure form is actually clear, the color depends upon what impurities were present when it was formed. Because this stone has darker hues on top and slightly lighter hues on the cracked side, I would guess Heliodor.
Beryl is also brittle, thus, the cracks in the stone. To test, Beryl is 7.5 - 8 hardness, colorless streak test

This being opaque is very common and not worth a lot because its not gemmy or clear.

3 Likes

Thank you for replying

I to am very new to gemology and feel compelled to add this as food for thought…while this specimen may not have monetary value, it is still valuable because it fosters discussion. Knowledge is gained every time those who can, teach what they know, so others may learn. And that in my opinion is priceless.

5 Likes