Back to IGS | FAQ | Contact

Precious stone settings

Hi everyone,
My question is " would you set a precious gem stone like am emerald or ruby in 9 carat gold setting?"
Thank you

Do you mean setting a gem in 9 kt now? Gold jewelry from UK in the late 19th century was routinely set in 9 kt gold. So, if you’re asking about rubies and emeralds that exist in that kt and are 150 years old, the answer is yes. If you plan on setting stones now, not sure you even find 9 kt.

You can still get 9kt settings, but in truth if the gems are fo good quality why would you wish to set them in anything less than 18kt? Good quality gems for me should be given the best possible setting and personally I think 18 is the best choice it wears well and is stylish, 9 tends I think to be too brassy.

1 Like

Hello,
As a designer I often set precious stones in 9ct gold, UK alloy.
Some clients prefer the colour and it can be stronger if the setting is quite fine. It also keeps the costs lower for the fine/ demi-fine market.
In the US I believe the popular choice is 10ct, but would need to confirm that.

Mazarin is bang on. In the UK it’s 9 and 18 karat, and the US it’s 10 and 14 karat.
Keep in mind that there are emerald and ruby of lesser quality that would be perfectly okay to mount in 9 or 10K, but when it comes to the finer quality gemstones… they belong in finer gold.

2 Likes

Depenfs on the quality of the stone??

1 Like

There are no rules that govern sound mind decisions in these matters, but why put a $30K ruby in a 9 carat ring? It disrespects, and would even affect the perceived value of the gem. This is just my opinion of course. I’ve been known to be wrong. :wink:

3 Likes