New to IGS, where to start Burma/Brazil

Hello everyone I’m new to the gem world and have fallen into a possibly interesting situation.
I live between and have have fallen into large supplier connections in Brazil and Burma in the precious stone trade in the past year and have been hesitant on moving on this because of the political situation. However this gem fever keeps creeping up on me.
That being said, I’m not sure where to start or where to find buyers after the initial purchase besides the few contacts I have across a few western countries.
More information: I am able to travel at anytime to conduct my business
I will be purchasing at mines and or gem houses

Any advice on how to move forward or even a push or a pull in a direction would be greatly appreciated

1 Like

It has been said that “9 out of 10” people that find “gem connections” get taken and can lose substantial amounts of money by paying high prices for stones that they can only sell at low prices. To avoid this requires … first, that you learn to recognize real gems and can assess quality yourself… second, that your connection has a substantial investiment of their own in having you be successful in your buying and selling… and third … it is a really good idea to have many potential buyers that can also look over what you “want” to purchase before you put up your money. The old saying of “Buyer Beware” is especially true in the gem trade in foreign countries such as Brazil and Burma.

With that said… I wish you “good luck” and every success.

2 Likes

Is there still a BAN on Burmese stones due to politics? If so, then this is something to consider when choosing supplier connections. There could be legal ramifications.
So the “Buyer Beware” saying could be very important here.

1 Like