New Student asks about Chanthaburi Thailand?

Hi I’m new to Gemology. I am retired and live in Sun City AZ where I joined the Lapidary Club and took the Cabochon Cutting Class, and enjoyed it.

I also spend time in Thailand which is in The Gemology World also.
I am planning a little side trip to Chanthaburi Thailand to hang at the Gem Market. I have been cautioned not to BUY until I learn a bit more but?

Does anyone have any suggestions about the Gem Market there and things I might take advantage of while I am there?

Thanks Gerry

There is a vendor there (grandgemstones on Ebay) who has sold me gemstones for years, and I have yet to get one that was not exactly as advertised. His name is Amnart, and he has offered to buy directly from the markets there for me. I trust him and have spent a lot with him, without disapointment. Contact him, I bet he will shopw you safely around. I envy you your trip!

Toby Smith

One of the biggest problems with buying in Chanthaburi is the light. It is going to be different than what you are used to at home and that can make a big difference. It takes a while for your eyes to adapt to it. Of course there are plenty of other challenges…treatments, pricing etc. but the light is a big one.

It would help considerably to have someone trustworthy with you that knows the market and goes often enough to be used to the light. When are you planning to go?
Contact me privately and I can recommend someone that goes every weekend. If he can’t help, he will know someone that can.

Dave

Hi,