New member here into and gem identification help😃

Hello,
I’m truly sorry this is a different subject but I wasn’t sure where to go. I’m new here. I was wondering if anyone could help me, my mother has pre-war one Tahitian black pearls that are coin shaped about the size of a nickel. They’ve been passed down to her by her great great grandmother so it would be in the 1800s. I guess she traveled a lot with her husband that was in the military. We would like to find out if these are worth as much as I think they would be because they’re not cultured they’re natural. I was wondering if we were miss guided.

4 Likes

Rhonda: No I do not think that you are misguided on thinking that your item is worth quite a bit. 1. If the are natural pearls, that alone says a lot. 2. If the age of your pearls & the setting is correct, that says a lot also.
I am new at this also, but have seen a few antique pieces. From what I see. I would say, take the items to a VERY reputable appraiser, and have them appraised for “insurance value” with pictures and documentation . It may cost a bit, but you will know just what it is you have and what it’s worth.
I have been disappointed in the past by doing this. BUT I have also been greatly rewarded.
By the looks of that piece, I would take the risk.

1 Like

Yes thank you. Any and all advice is what I need. I’m sorry I haven’t responded. It’s due to a death in my family.

1 Like

These are cut shell beads, not pearls

5 Likes

Hello, this antique jewelry of yours is made in China. It should be silver from the Qing Dynasty about 1890. The Chinese character written on it is “永盛隆(Yongshenglong)” is the name of the manufacturer, and the engraved number “90” should refer to 90. % Silver content. (I am a native Chinese speaker.)

In any case, this is an antique jewelry with a story, worth collecting.

7 Likes

I can see why you’d think that. But they are not cut. I did the tooth test and they are very gritty like my real pearls