Mentor Wanted

Hi everyone,
I am very new to the industry and I am trying to make connections and learn as much as possible.
I have been going to Gem Shows local jewelry marts to meet people and see if they have any interest in the gemstones I currently have. I have found that people do have interest in specific stones and the prices vary greatly from selling to a wholesaler (below wholesale), selling wholesale, and selling retail. The difference between them has left me perplexed at times which is why I would love to find a mentor who can help teach me the basics of the industry and hopefully more. I also do have interest for faceting and jewelry making as the more I have learned the more it seems to be a bit easier to find retail buyers for jewelry than loose gemstones. I currently live in Newport Beach, CA so if there is anyone in the OC or LA area I would also be willing to work for free on the weekends of after 5 on the weekdays (I have a boring 9-5 and I also own a food truck so my time is taken during normal business hours in the week).I know mentors are a huge part of most successful peoples journey so it is something I really am looking for.
This is definitely something I have a passion for and would really like to do full time one day as growing up I have always had an interest in specimens and gemstones; an opportunity to get gemstones and other precious minerals straight from the mines in all parts of Africa has come up so it is something I thought I couldn’t pass up on trying to make a career out of.

instagram: @noelfriendgems
email: tristan@noelandfriendgems.com

1 Like