Learning how to identify simulated gems from real gems.

Hello I would like to be able to look at a stone and be able to tell if the stone is real. With online buying, I have found lots of the gems are simulated gems. Just want to make sure I get full value of what I am buying, Any tips would be appreciated.

1 Like

Take a gemstone course at GIA?

Hi looking at gems online and or in the hand is not possible to tell if it is natural, synthetic or a simulant
you always have to test a gem to ensure if it is natural and what the seller has stated it is. it has been said many times on this forum if it is too cheap it probably is not what you think you are purchasing.
I learnt a long time ago that no one can just look at a gemstone and know what it is, after 30 years of buying fossicking and looking at nearly every gem you want to name I thought I could just look at a gem and call it out. How surprised I was when I did my gemmology diploma to find out that I was not as good as I thought I was in identifying gems by just looking at them.

3 Likes