I'm Just 16

Hi all!! My name is Bella. I’m just starting out in this industry (I’m 16) and I’ve just set up my own online shop - I made my first sale last week!! I am an utter glutton for gems and I love gemmology so much (hope to do the course this year!). Do you guys have any tips for a beginner?

If anyone is interested, here is my Instagram page (https://www.instagram.com/labellegemme/) - I have some beautiful stones (gem rough, cut and jewelry) for sale! Tsavorite, Grandidierite, Sapphires, Burmese rubies, beryl - you name it!! I get it all cheap from a reputable Aussie supplier so I can sell it super cheap! I want to learn as much as I can as soon as I can so I don’t care about making much of a profit. I invest all my money in gems!!

Anyhoo, hope y’all have a good day!

6 Likes

The best thing I’ve learned is network. Ask other people questions and be open to criticism and new ways of doing things. This applies to everything in life, in my opinion.

I started live streaming my faceting a while back and I get experienced faceters that watch and ask questions. I always make a point to ask them how they approach what I’m doing. As a result my faceting has improved over the last 2 years because of the tips and questions from my viewers.

Twitch if ya wanna join some time! I’d love to pick your brain as well!

5 Likes

16 is an EXCELLENT age to start in the gem business! I will assume you live at home, this is great because you are going to want to turn your profits into inventory and grow your business as quickly as possible, not paying for rent or food will be a big help!

Few words of advice:
A refractometer is your best friend in the world, along with some other basic knowledge of gems, it will ‘answer your question’ 99% of the time (maybe more?)