Honest opinons

hi im selling these two sets to a friend of mine and was wondering what people thought of my work so far.
keep in mind i have not polished these and the earings are only done up to 600 grit atm.

thank you
also im a novice at lapidary. i just started 2 months ago.

pictures not very clear

thank you for the reply. atm this is the best i can do with pictures :frowning:

The cuts look pretty even on them and they look like they match. So not bad.
All the best on your lapidary experience,
Otter

1 Like

thank you!

Be aware that rock cabs are mostly polished commercially in the East, where labor is cheap. Unless the material and the workmanship is exceptional, cabs are not worth much. Since these are not yet polished, one can’t say they are exceptional and the rock looks nondescript. So they are in the range of $5 to $10 each at retail, at most. Lapidaries don’t make much money, they do make a little by finding good rough in rocks and cutting it out, selecting patterns and polishing it well. I have a small slab of Kentucky agate I got at a recent rock show…it has a nice pattern in the center of it, so I may get a 15x20 oval cab out of it…this stuff is red and white and black and rather hard to find, so the slab cost $20 and possibly I can get $40 for the stone? It will be a half hour’s work, but then there’s the hour or two it might take to sell and ship it… -royjohn

1 Like

where are you located? maybe we can trade local stone and or fossiles.
this is just a grain of sand to what i find. all this is from north west florida.

Jacob,