Help with a Rayner Refactometer

Help!,
I have the option of purchasing an older Rayner Refactometer model 1100/2383. I do not have the yellow light for it at this time since I’m just taking it for a test drive. I’ve used different strength lights with and without filters. So far I have not seen any results, at all. I may not have the right color. My other Refactometer has a built in light.
My question is, do I need a specific light for this model to make it give me ANY reading?
Thanks in advance.
All the Very Best.
Otter

Why on earth are you still stuck in the 19th century with an antique…Buy a digital refractometer and say adios to hazardous fluids… and read any R.I. from 1.30 to 3.00 and no light source to worry about.
Medium & high Zircon CZ…Diamond…Moissanite.
I have been using one for over 30 years and never been disappointed, in fact, I own 3 of them and check one against the others to make certain there was no an error .
ken

1 Like