Gemstone Surface Polish Lines vs. Growth Lines

Hello! Im extremely new to the world of gemstones but I’m trying to teach myself how to identify inclusions. Im having a really difficult time being able to tell whether the lines im looking at under the microscope are growth lines or if they’re just from polishing the surface.

Are any of these images displaying growth lines?

Any and all tips on how to spot growth lines would also be greatly appreciated!

p.s. these images were taken by a x60 digital microscope from various rubies and sapphires in my collection.

1 Like

Hi Sam,

Welcome to the community! The digital microscope you have takes some very good images!

If you haven’t seen this article; this is a really good source on how to approach viewing a stone using a microscope. The Microscope: A Guide for Gemologists - International Gem Society

The first two images seem to be viewing the internal structure (inclusions).
The third one really does seem like a view of growth patterns. However, without viewing the external of the stone first, it might be difficult to distinguish between surface polish and growth patterns internally.

A good way to view surface features is to use an external light source and angle the stone so you see the light reflected back at you. (As illustrated in the article above) You may have to use a low illumination level, so you don’t blind the camera and wash out any features. Surface polish and scratches will become very visible as you rotate the stone around.

When viewing stones, I will draw a sketch of the table and crown facets. Then take note of any features that can be seen using a loupe or mag-visor. I then place the stone under the microscope and start looking at these. Taking notes on each one.

The last image you posted (red stone with straight lines) looks like surface features at adjoining facet edges. That is a really good image!

Cheers!

Troy

2 Likes

@SamR31352 if you dont mind my asking. What microscope do you have?