faceting

I am fairly new at faceting and would like suggestions on which tool would be good for checking refractive index. Brand names would be helpful.

Hi there.

I recomend a gemstone refractometer. There is a lot’s of brands out there and also unbranded. You budget decides ofcourse the quality of the refractometer. Regardles of brand, the most important thing is that you learn how to use it.
Dont fall for the temptation and buy a digital refractometer. They are not reliable.

Best regards
Pierre

I’ve actually found my digital Presidium refractometer to be quite accurate but I can see how it would not be as accurate as an analog refractometer. I had a hard time reading the analog refractometer when I worked in jewelry stores years ago and I’ve only had my Presidium for a year but it has been extraordinarily useful so far. The only downside I found was that it required a 3 mm minimum polished surface. I actually found it to be a little bit less than 3 mm but the polished surface is necessary and therefore a little time consuming but not so bad as it doesn’t matter if there are scuffs and scratches. I have been cutting stones for over 25 years and faceting for 10. I am also a jeweler/metalsmith.

The one from the online store at GIA is very reliable, not digital. Make sure you have RI liquid that goes to 1.81 and both white and monochromatic light sources.