Emerald spot inclusions

I am a new member and I joined IGS today to find some answers to some of my questions on Emeralds.

I have some cut green stones that look like emeralds and are from an old collection (I’m sure you have all heard that one before) and I would like to know if synthetic or lab created emeralds have dark inclusions and spots within them? Is that possible? I am not very tech savvy and have a USB microscope due to arrive next week and will supply images when I am able.

After spending time doing my own research I have found so far that lab created gems have very few inclusions as I understand they are trying to mimic the highest quality gems and any black spots are just reflective rather than actual mineral inclusions. Is this correct?

I might be asking a dumb question but I could not find a forum topic about this subject and my internet searches turn up a blank.

Many thanks, Mark

1 Like

Welcome Mark

A great deal depends on whether the synthetic emerald is grown with the flux or hydrothermal process and there are quite a few different brands of synthetic emeralds. I recall that Chatham lab gems were very clear and it was obvious to the naked eye they weren’t natural.
Synthetic emerald growth processes

These inclusion images are from a very reputable gemology school in Thailand. You’ll probably find this link very helpful also lab created/ synthetic
Inclusions in Emeralds

and an inclusion chart from GIA

GIA Chart: Inclusions in Natural, Synthetic, and Treated Emerald

3 Likes

Thanks very much for the links JCBell.

When I receive my microscope I’ll be able to have a much better indication now I have some images to compare to. I’ll try and post images of the stones and microscopic images when I do.

1 Like