Effect of coronavirus on gem markets

Recently saw pictures on BK gem show which was basically a ghost town - people obviously were no-shows because of the perceived risk from the virus. But what are likely to be the broader effects from a pandemic (as this is very likely soon to be) on the gem markets? Clearly the financial markets are in a major correction and this has the potential to set off a economic recession of duration unknown. Anyone remember the 2008/2009 period and the short term effects on gem pricing etc? I am noting prices on GRA auctions seem to be softer than a few weeks ago (personal observation). Any thoughts?

2 Likes

I’ve been selling gems part time since 1993 (when my dad gave me a briefcase of stones with my cost and said ‘go sell, you can keep all the profits’) and full time since 1999.

SARS in 2003 hit Toronto fairly hard, I had people cancelling orders from me because they didn’t want SARS coming to their door, that said, I think most people who were on solid ground financially did just fine.

My best guess is that this is a short term temporary hiccup, vaccines are already being developed and COVID-19 will be a vague memory soon enough.

THAT SAID: It may be a good time to try to get good deals from people who need money today, I know that I bought some GREAT material from some dealers from Hong Kong in Tucson because they knew that they were going back to a Ghost City and no Hong Kong fair.

2 Likes

Interesting comments, thanks. You mentioned the SARS issue (a good parallel) but how did you find the gem markets in Canada dealt with the 2008/9 crisis?

I rather think we are looking at a minimum 9-12 months disruption and the economic fall-out could be significant in some nations. General release of a proven vaccine will be a year away at best unfortunately.

I don’t think that the economic crash of 2008/2009 is a good comparison, banks aren’t going belly up and people aren’t being kicked out of their homes en masse.