Could it be a realy Alexandrite

I have some stones that were bought in Alexandria Egypt in the 1970´teens.I have been told that is Alexandrite stones. Is it possible for me to send a picture so some experts could look at it. My stones are green in daylight and bright reddish in night light.
Kindest regards
S.T. Vinther

Yes, a photograph would be most helpful.
Alexandrite is a personal favorite of mine so I’m always willing to take a look at one

Hi DevynL73578

This is my first time posting on the forum. So it’s a pleasure meeting you ( virtually ). I also have some Alexandrite pieces that I recently inherited along with over 1500 other precious gems. My mum lives in Greece and we had family members that came from Russia, Mesopotamia areas. With so many different gems it’s very difficult to know what to do with them. The idea was that I would have inherited them after my mum passed away. She decided instead that as I reached 50 years old she would like me to use them now. The ones I have are from the Ural Mountain region where my Grandfather was before going to Greece. There are Blue, Purple and I have a couple of green ones. All change to a beautiful pink/red colour in Candle light as I’ve purchased the multi spectrum light. How would you suggest that I display my huge collection of various gems on the forum ? They really are lovely I don’t have any daughters lol :joy: so I’m thinking about putting them on here and if people are interested I’m going to sell a large amount of all the different gems. As you mentioned you like Alexandrite I thought I would introduce myself. Hoping I’ve posted correctly. It’s great to be a member. Regards. Phil

2 Likes

Good morning, Phil. It is a pleasure to meet you as well.