Chart legend Properties

Hi, I am a hobbyist and I am trying to look up the RI on stones, in particular a peridot. I went to the Properties of Gem Olivines chart and I am not sure what the columns represent. Is there a Key to know what row is what? I think it may be the Fancy B column but I am unsure, any help welcomed!

Thank you

1 Like

Look,Iā€™m going to just come out and say itā€¦your tools are of utmost importance.what I recommend is this.buy the Gemini 3 . It is an amazing tool ,and I have found it to save me countless hours of my time with many aspects of gem identity and Iā€™m really advocating itā€™s purchase!

Hello Rhyannon,

If by ā€œFancy Bā€ you mean the Beta symbol, that represents the intermediate RI in a biaxial crystal, like a peridot, and corresponds to the Y-axis of the crystal. (Peridots are orthorhombic crystals and have three axes and three RIs). Alpha represents the lowest RI and corresponds to the X-axis, and Gamma represents the highest RI and corresponds to the Z-axis. There is more information on RIs and biaxial crystals in this article on optics.

Hope this helps,

Pedro
IGS Admin

3 Likes

Never heard of it but till then, just knowing what the column headers mean would be a great startā€¦ do you know what they are ? or where to find out?

1 Like

The top row of the chart has the headers for each column.

Alpha, Beta, Gamma, Birefringence, and 2V are all explained in the optics article. The first two columns are just the content of Magnesium oxide and Iron oxide in olivines from different locations and different colors. SG is Specific Gravity.

2 Likes

Okay, likely will have more questions it looks like the properties of the peridot change according to locations? if I continue reading downward on the chart. I did not think that is possible! Learn new things all the time. Thank you!