Certification of gemstones

This stone weighs 2.73g and I believe it to be a ruby. I have no papers or knowledge as to its origins but can assure everyone it is not stolen. There is no certification attached to the stone which I`m sure affects its value. I am in the process of having the stone assessed. Is there a way to obtain appropriate certification in order for it to be sold at a higher value?

If I was to make any suggestion it would be find a registered gemmologist appraiser in your area. 2.73g would be about 13.65 ct which, if it’s a natural ruby would sell for a decent sum.

Without any further information on the stone though I would definitely be suggesting someone from the GIA, Gem-A, CGA, or equivalent to identify the stone as ruby first. If it is you might also want to send it to AGL or GIA for an origin report as certain rubies sell for higher amounts depending on where they come from if it’s a natural.

Keep in mind, lab-created rubies have been around since the late 1800s so for that size of stone I would be very suspicious of if it was real or not.

1 Like

Thank you Inaheim for your prompt and informative reply