About Sapphire

Hi Everyone,
My name is Tina and I’m originally from Vietnam. I live in Seattle now.
Recently my dad gave me a big beautiful Vietnamese blue sapphire stone, however, i have no understanding about it.
Please help me out here.
I’d like to sell the stone but i have no idea how much it worth, i have certificate for it but i’m not sure if the State accept it. What is the tax for bringing it in the Us?
The pictures of the stone is below .
Please take a look and help me out.
Thank you very much! :blush:

1 Like

It looks like a faceted untreated cabochon, seeing as the description on the cert says opaque with no treatments. I could be offbase though as I’m fairly new to gemology. Your best bet would be to take it to an appraiser to look it over.

1 Like

This could be a fairly special stone, the cutting on the crown looks good the cutting on the pavilion leaves a lot to be desired. The stone has been cut for weight not light transmission, this is confirmed by the overall weight of the stone at 58.96ct. An Oval cut sapphire based on these dimensions and optimal cutting angles should weigh around 49ct.

Because the angles on the pavilion are wrong, the light ‘leaks’ out the back and is not reflected back through the stone, this creates a ‘dead’ stone which unfortunately is what you have.

If you get this re-cut by an experienced sapphire cutter, the weight will drop but the potential of having a significant increase in value is very high.

Dark stones will always be dark, heat treatment might help depending on the temperature range the stone is heated to, but it is not something I would do with this stone, it has character which might be lost during heating.

Personally, the only thing this stone has going for it is its size, once expertly re-cut the whole story changes.

7 Likes