Back to IGS | FAQ | Contact

$500 of opals or garbage?

I am looking for a few gemologists to tell me if these are real or fake… on camera. Not the best picture, but if the volume of fake gemstones for sale on the internet bothers you, please consider an interview with me. These are from 7 different vendors and just my “opals”. I don’t know where I’m going with this experiment, but I pride myself on my ethics and won’t be selling fake jewelry with fake beads. This is so sad because I’m a registered nurse at an acute care psychiatric hospital and I had planned to buy clothes and shoes for my homeless patients to discharge in with my profits. I wanted to do something nice for the unit for Christmas with my profits. I’ve got 50K of what may or may not be real so I’m kinda stuck. Is anyone willing to participate? We can work some education into the interview. Share your thoughts…

1 Like

One really can’t tell anything with these contained within tubes, they need to be laid out under good light and photographed with a good macro lens before anyone can even start to offer an opinion on their identity.

Unfortunately, there’s not a lot I can tell you in the tubes, and it’s impossible to be sure via photos or video, but I am happy to help as much as I can. I am a Graduate Gemologist & Graduate Jeweler through GIA and was the Director of Education at an independent jewelry store for over a decade.

If these were laid out with good lighting, it would be helpful, though.

100% right! Have you examined them to see if they are doublets or triplets first,then you need to check with a knowledgeable person who can look at them individually.Can’t tell a thing from anything in a tube.Then you need a place to sell them or someone to buy them.

Out of the tubes agree. I have and deal with a lot of Opal both cut and rough. Please tell the origin and better photos. some of this does look like Ethiopian but again please lay them out properly.